November 8, 2012

  • How God has helped me


    (I wrote about religion without celibacy, does this count? If not, at least I didn't blog about dog tits. YOU'RE WELCOME) 3 requests filled! Will finish the rest. I am 98% to True.

    @Ricardo98 @musterion99 @PPhilip

     

    I am a Christian. I have been called not a “real” Christian because I won’t subscribe to any groupthink. I’m interested in God/truth/doing what is right, etc – I’m not really interested in conforming to perceptions people have on Christian behavior.

    I have grown a lot in the last few years. I’ve had particularly a lot of trouble loving people in my personal life. Admittedly my emotions consisted of; anger, anger, hatred, revenge, anger, anger, anger. I have keyed cars, thrown coffee in them, destroyed property, & more. This was out of revenge and I felt justified at the time doing it. I had to really examine myself and study scripture to know that in no way was this what God wanted or thought was morally right. I wasn’t defending myself, I was hurting people. Just because somebody hurts me doesn’t give me the right to hurt them back.

    In 2010 I ended up falling head over heels in love. I was the same crazy biotch, hell bent on revenge when someone fucked me over. Except for this time, every time I did something, it hurt the person I loved the most. I had never felt more pain in my life than when I hurt someone I loved. This time I felt the effects of revenge, of anger, and not loving someone the way God commanded us to. There is no action I did that didn’t come back and hurt me tenfold.

    In November 2011 my Dad was diagnosed with cancer. I hated him for a long time and never forgave him for anything. Seeing him in the hospital sad, weak, in pain, and helpless changed that. He was formerly some menacing, scary thing to me. Now I pity him. He became human, just like me. He wasn’t an object for my hate, but a human being that was to be loved as God told us to.

    I’ve learned that despite what other people do they are human beings like we are. “…for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” Romans 3:23

    They aren’t worse than we are. “For whoever keeps the whole law and yet stumbles at just one point is guilty of breaking all of it.” James 2:10 An us vs. them mindset can be destructive and only sets ourselves up for hate. Hate isn’t productive, it begets more hate. We are all human beings/children of God and are not distinguished by bad vs. good. None of us are good, God loves us anyway. "...No one is good except God alone." Mark 10:18

    So this year I’ve encountered quite a few challenges that have made me want to get revenge and correct wrongs that I had endured by people I knew. But thanks to Christ I have learned that loving people (other than loving God) is the MOST important thing to do, and if I cannot love people then my claims to love God make me a liar. “If anyone says, ‘I love God,’ yet hates his brother, he is a liar. For anyone who does not love his brother, whom he has seen, cannot love God, whom he has not seen.” 1 John 4:20 Being hateful does nothing except inspire more hate. There is nothing to accomplish from it.

    heartI will end on some of my favorite, relevant scriptures.

     

    The Parable of the Unmerciful Servant

    21 Then Peter came to Jesus and asked, “Lord, how many times shall I forgive my brother or sister who sins against me? Up to seven times?”

    22 Jesus answered, “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times.

    Matthew 18:21-23

     

    The Greatest Commandment

    34 Hearing that Jesus had silenced the Sadducees, the Pharisees got together. 35 One of them, an expert in the law, tested him with this question: 36 “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?”

    37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.” 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

    Matthew 22:34-40

     

    “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

    Jeremiah 29:11

     

    So there is a peek into my religious life. What has God done for you?

    And here atheists, have a shot for having to look at this. smooch

Comments (75)

  • This is beautiful. I'm so sorry about your Dad. I hope he's better and I think you are an incredible person. <3

  • This is a rather "off the beaten path" type post.

  • I never would have THUNK it that you were Christian.  I was raised Protestant, which certainly puts me in that category so I know right from wrong but in the summer of 2004 all that changed.  A very dear friend, whom I held sooooo close was killed.  Up until her funeral I was going back and forth, why did this happen, what did I do to deserve this, eventually I felt lost.  After her funeral I kept asking myself, Is there a god, and from then on, I didn't believe in an all-mighty being anymore.  I felt things happen for no real apparent reason, they just happen. 

    For me growing up and making friends wasn't easy, since we moved so often, so when I finally had a friend that I cared deeply about, she was struck down in her prime.  Put yourself in my shoes, you have a BF or GF, Husband or Wife, child that you obviously care very deeply about.  They're with you one moment, then . . . THEY'RE GONE.  I can only blame one person for this horrible crime, the person that ran her over and probably didn't even realize it until the cops showed up at his home.  I could not live with myself if I did that and if I accidently did that, I would feel horrible for a very very long time.  Now, imagine she was your child, YOUR ONLY CHILD, and then, she is gone.  Only her memories are left.  At first I couldn't imagine the pain and suffering they were going through, to lose their only child and for what?  Somebody drank too much and oh, I'm sorry, I didn't know.

    Sorry Shimmer dear, I didn't mean to make this comment all about me, but your final question was what has he done for you?

  • @rocketopossum - My boobs do not look like Christian boobs I guess.

    @EmilyandAtticus - Thaaank you very much.  I also think you're incredible +100. 

    @Kris0logy - YES WE DO

    @PrisonerxOfxLove - I try =P

    @olwd - Thank you for such the well thought out reply. Sorry what you had to go through. :c You have every right to be angry.  *hug*

  • I really like this post. Another beautiful side to you that was hidden.. :)

  •  I’m not really interested in conforming to perceptions people have on Christian behavior.

       

    What do you believe about what the bible says about Christian behavior?

  • @olwd - sorry for putting my nose in...but I've had a lot happen to me too, I just don't talk about it. God can handle your anger as for letting it happen...He doesn't stop the free will of men unless we ask Him to step in,...

    Personal thoughts & to add to answer the question : He has often gave instructions to not to do something etc or to pull over bc of a danger ahead..& I've seen how He as stopped things from happening bc I listened...

    Last Night I was meaning to zing someone with my FB stat about how our actions speak louder about the condition of our hearts more than our words. He let it bite me instead...I confessed it as well.

  • @olwd - I hope I didn't over step (((HUGS)))

  • @musterion99 - That would be like 20 posts, wouldn't it? Behavior consistent with loving people, loving God, and doing what one thinks is right based on their true assessment of following Christ's teachings.

    @Babieboo_Annie - that was sweet. What a nice compliment! Thank you. I'll refrain from saying anything lesbionic since this is my religious post. 

  • @Kris0logy - For me I'm not longer angry at him, but I don't find it easy to always listen to  . . . I guess my thoughts sometimes.  I do however, help those that are stranded, in need of money, or just lost.  I do it because, whether or not he said to, I do it because I feel it is the right thing to do.  Perhaps the way I was raised is sneaking back in, but I don't feel it will completely change my ways.

    I recently spoke with her parents, this last weekend while visiting her gravesite.  Of course I balled like a baby, but her mother hugged my like I was her own daughter.  It was touching for me what she told me then.

    She said, "Melissa still loves you Amy and she is happy for you.  Never forget the good times you shared.  She'll always be in your heart."

    I guess what she said wasn't like the most profound thing one could say but the way she said it made me feel just a bit better.  I mean I know those were her words and she being the parent that lost her only child, she appeared amazingly strong while standing at the foot of her only child's grave.

    I'm sorry, I can write better than this, but it's just coming out right now and I can't see what I'm typing.

  • You picked some wonderful scriptures~ :) One love! 

  • These are all wonderful bible verses. But they all seem to circle around one central point. 

    What are your takes on mercy?

  • @ShimmerBodyCream - @musterion99 -  God changing us & following Him is a lot like Houston streets ALWAYS under construction.I think ppl who follow Him/ Word & not church doctrines are ahead in the 'game'.

  • Wow, this was beautiful.

    " None of us are good, God loves us anyway."
    Amen. I feel like crying! In a good way. 

  • @Kris0logy - You are an awesome person!

  • havent had the chance to read the whole thing yet. I'll get back to it.

  • @ShimmerBodyCream - Yeah, love is really important. Jesus said -"If you love me, keep my commandments."  I was thinking more along the lines of the bible saying certain things are sins like getting drunk, sex before marriage, etc...

  • @Kris0logy - I agree, but some people don't allow God to change them. 

  • @musterion99 - Oh, yes I agree with you. "First clean the inside of the cup and dish, and then the outside also will be clean." Matthew 23:26  I think it's important to keep the commandments and love God. I was referring to some of the frivolous things people get stuck on. I've met people who thought wearing makeup was a sin, etc. Focusing on idiosyncrasies of a church vs changing the heart. If that makes sense?

  • I had no idea. WOW.

    Believe it or not though, this has had no affect on my opinion of you. I thought you were a great person already! 

  • This blog is absolutely beautiful! I'm glad to see more people able to follow the good of religion without subscribing to what the organization of it brings out of some people (a large reason why I don't practice my Catholicism).

  • you are not the only one that has been told that they do not come across as "christian"  apparently neither do i and i am a former ordained minister.  i enjoyed this post very much, you are a beautiful woman on the inside and out, thank you for your courage!

  • i appreciate u writing this..moreso to exemplify the ying and yang of life..and how there should be a balance....that you can be all crazy and out there..and be spiritual at the same time....

    Everything happens for a reason as God has helped me become and accept the fact that I'm human...that everything is done to a higher purpose...that I truly have nothing to worry about...

  • I guess the test for a church for you is whether or not they accept gays or lesbians? More practical would be if they were not anti homosexual?

    The best person for Christianity is someone seeking redemption. Redemption from the slavery of anger and revenge is a good start.
    I like it when folks make baby steps and continue their forward progress into perfection. Looks like your cleavage has leads the way for perfection
    Since no one is mentioning being celibate, I suppose that sect of religion is too harsh for most people.

  • @ShimmerBodyCream - I have to clean the inside of my cup? Darn, now I gotta go and do my dishes.  

  • May God's love be with you, always.

  • I would love to be Christian, to believe in God but I just don't. I've read through the bible and I just can't subscribe to it. However, I do practice much of what is contained in how to treat other people and what is good and what is bad. it would be so nice to believe that there is one God up there who loves you no matter what as long as you believe in him and work to his good but I just don't. I understand why people do though so I have nothing against Christians. Or any religion for that matter. People need something to believe in. They need a saviour. Very well written post. I enjoyed it.

  • I don't understand the "religion without celibacy" part, but what you write here certainly "counts". The main thing any human being must acknowledge is, "I need God." Everything after that has to do with finding Him in all things. This, I believe, is only possible through Jesus' sacrifice. Once we see how much we ourselves have been forgiven, we surely are able to forgive others. So... Amen, sister!

  • @brerjohn_lives - I was replying to the commenter. (the comment I am replying to is in the image above. Can you see it?)

  • Great post. You are so true member worthy already.

  • This was inspiring.  

  • Being a Christian we are constantly tested. The ones are are extremely special to God are the ones that are tested the most. We are always a work in progress and I pray not only for you but for me to grow further and further in Christ to lead us to serve His purpose. Beautiful post!

    *in a wise Black female sidekick voice* Gurrrrrrrllllll, God is tryin to tell you somethin'!

  • very wonderful and beautiful

  • You are definitely an amazing person.  You are definitely a beautiful person inside and out.

  • this is wonderful.

    you are wonderful.
    :D

  • @Jade_Orchid - Hey sistah, I loved your comment.  @shimms: You are my sister through Christ.  

  • I feel you on this. I wish it would easier to love people like we should. Alas, if it was easy everyone would do it, right?

    I guess I should answer your question about what God has done for me though. Well, lots of things. I think my favorite is changing my entire perspective from "Woe to me"/me feeling sorry for myself to "I have it so good, I have so much to be thankful for etc". I'm not always perfect with thinking that way, but I really never thought about things from a positive, hopeful perspective before I knew God. It just didn't happen. So yeah, that's one of the biggest things, I think. And my life is just strangely and radically different since before I was a Christian. Hard to explain, but you know what I mean, I'm sure.

  • I have a tattoo on my rib cage that reminds me that I'm a sinner and I need forgiveness. It helps me to touch it when I get angry or have bad thoughts. I don't go to church enough or do enough "Christian" actions for sure but I try to keep it in my heart.

  • See, I knew you had deep spirituality, inner beauty to go with the outer.  I'm happy you shared with your friends this stuff, you will find many rewards in opening up.  I hope I will be a friend for a long time to see you grow your spirit, your love, and your sense of humor, which I really like.

    I spent a lot of time at church in my youth, my family had a long tradition of building churches (Methodist) in this country since the mid 1700s.  I studied and got the boy scout award in religion.  I also recently went back to my other grandmother's country church in Kentucky,where I spent time, it still stands.  Saw the ghosts of the men and women that were there in my youth, simple country people.  I'm not much for organized religion any more, I don't recognize that brand of Christianity as the one I learned.  But I still hold the best parts, love your neighbor, golden rule, worship privately, don't kill in war or death penalty.  I also added good parts of other religions of the world to my beliefs.  Your post just reminded me of all that stuff.

  • LOVE LOVE LOVE...

    I consider you a friend and hope you know that you can always talk, rant, scream, bitch, whatever you need at me. 

    I love you very much and I hope and pray that God continues to work in your life, not just to guide you, but so that you know just how very much He loves you, and that you love him back. 

    *hugs* 

  • This was a great post. It was nice to take a peek into this part of you. :)

  • The force is strong with this one.

    :D

    I have heard you hinting at your beliefs before, but unabashed and out it in the open, they are beautiful. Despite my requests, this was better than a boobs post.

  • This is so touching. 

  • @olwd - I can undersand the tremendous pain you must have endured after losing someone who you love so dearly like that. I think my heart would break if anything were ever to happen to my kids. :( .. But God did give people free will to choose right from wrong. If you were to place blame on anyone, it would be on the monster who committed the crime. Often times, people blame God for the bad things that happen to us..but what about all the good that happens? As hard and unfair as it may seem, you can't ever fully appreciate the good in life without the bad.."Without suffering, there would be no compassion." *hugs*, Amy. I hope that maybe one day you'll find God again..or at least find inner peace to fully heal from your loss..

  • Yay Shimmer for being secretly religious (; (; (;

  • This  is a very well written. :)   I don't think you have to  pick a sect to  be of faith or have a moral integrity.

  • @Babieboo_Annie - Thank you dearest Annie.  Her mothers words are still in my head and I think they will help.  Bless you sweetie.

  • Christians follow the 10-Commandments. # 9 seems to be broken and abused more and more each day. Perhaps you haven't noticed.  Φ

  • I dig it. That love and kindness for yourself and others is so worth focusing on and cherishing. :)

  • i wonder how i would feel if i told people i was a christian and suddenly it surprised everyone around me. "i had no idea...."

  • don't forget the power of prayer!  God is always there to listen and He never judges.

  • @Composing_Life - I am used to it. People seem to be surprised a lot when I talk about myself. Comes with the introvert territory I suppose.

    @malestop - Thank you!

    @B2yan_C - Thanks

    @Amandascowen - Thank you! I definitely agree.

    @godfatherofgreenbay - Thanks :3

  • This post is so loaded with truth

    Thanks for sharing

  • yeah those...are definitely not christian boobs...

  • Pingback: Blue Coaster33
  • Pingback: stop parking
  • Pingback: lan nu og her
  • Similar to Jupiter's Great Red Spot, it was dubbed the Great Dark Spot.
    For disabled people of all ages, the specially adapted disabled mobility scooter has meant that
    they can leave their home, get a job and join in with all areas
    of society. A mobile scooter is the right-hand assistance you can have when doctors instruct you to take rest.

  • The act will regulate digital television including, cable operator and multichannel video programming distributor's which has raised
    the eyebrows of some advertisers. After
    this setup is complete, then you will be able to install two PC systems
    all at the same time connected using only one Ethernet cord.
    If we used that signal to drive a speaker to run in the same
    1000hz frequency with the same amplitude, we would hear that sound through the speaker.

  • My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he's tryiong none the less. I've been using Movable-type on a
    variety of websites for about a year and am nervous
    about switching to another platform. I have heard
    good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?
    Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

  • Contemporary design and alternative fuel options like ethanol
    and diesel fuel also give customers an added benefit of cutting-edge technology.

  • Your style is so unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.

    Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I'll just book mark this web site.

  • To post a listing in a very city that charges to get a certain sort of post, know how you can pay of these postings therefore
    you're prepared once you place your ad.

  • The act will regulate digital television including, cable operator and
    multichannel video programming distributor's which has raised the eyebrows of
    some advertisers. The chocks should be placed
    firmly against both tires in the direction of the grade, and sometimes on both sides if heavy items are being loaded or unloaded.
    So now you will need to think about is where you should be trying to purchase this product from.

  • Thanks for finally writing about >How God has helped me | ShimmerBodyCream's Xanga Site <Loved it!

  • You seem to be really professional in the manner you
    write.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *